Welcome Guest, please login to post to forums

Parks and Recreation Grounds + listed building – move to community ownership

Home The Just Act Forum Ask a question… Parks and Recreation Grounds + listed building – move to community ownership

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Stephen Stephen 1 year, 5 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Christina
    Christina
    Participant

Hello

I am a consultant new to the area of community ownership projects.

I am looking for good examples of parks and recreation grounds that have successfully moved from local authority to community ownership – any regional location is fine.

In our scenario we have a Grade 1 listed building within the park, so examples of a park, with building (s) being transferred would be fantastic.

Any leads you could offer would be great

With many thanks,

Christina

Profile photo of Chrisie
    Chrisie
    Participant

Hi Christina

We are the friends of Walton hall park, the park is 130 acres in Liverpool and is under threat of mass development. In the plans Liverpool city council is planning on building on the whole park even though it dates back to 1149, before Liverpool began.

The council say they do not have money to run the park (one of many they are building on) but we have spoken to them about helping us to community asset the park to the community, sadly they refuse to speak to us.

We are exploring this ourselves now as feelings are very strong within the community to save the park. We have been running and maintaining the park for many months now. There is Land trust here in Liverpool that is doing exactly that in Liverpool but they do this by selling parts of the park to developers and with the money raised use that to maintain the park.