Welcome Guest, please login to post to forums

Reply To: January’s live chats

Home The Just Act Forum Ask a question… January’s live chats Reply To: January’s live chats

Profile photo of Tracey
Tracey
Participant

Hi Matthew,
I am part of an Our Place team looking at our community as a whole and how we can become a more self reliant neighbourhood, I will be looking to recruit lots of volunteers into our projects and understand the difficulties in finding great volunteers and then retaining them.

I have been running our Job Club for 18 months and have an amazing team of 10 volunteers, we hold meetings every 4 months (as you say it is tricky to get everyone together) I usually hold them straight after a job club session and I provide lunch as an incentive to stay on, maybe you could provide tea after the after school club?

I also quickly assessed the strengths in the volunteer team and have quietly given people extra responsibilities, eg we have a Head volunteer, ensuring they have someone to go and discuss issues with if I am not there, we have a volunteer who makes sure all the administration is done, photocopying, updating our boards etc, an ex policeman looks at our security and I always ask him to have a read through new forms and data sharing documents, a youth volunteers that all the young people really gel with and I turn to him for ideas of new ways of working, a networker – the volunteer I can rely on to tell people we exist. Anyway you get the idea. I ask them to contribute at the meetings if there is anything they feel needs to be addressed – therefore giving a sense of ownership of the project.

Once weekly, and every time we have a success I send around an email to the team updating them on what’s happened that week, I am lucky all my volunteers are really IT friendly, however you could look at a one sheet update every few weeks.